Ducky’s Advice

You: What is the best way to talk to your parents without them assuming you’re being disrespectful?

Me: We all know parents, they overreact to everything. As teenagers, the thought alone of talking to your parents is difficult so imagine talking to them and they find what you’re saying disrespectful. My tactic for talking to my mother who has to be the most strict parent in history is speaking with a child-like, playful voice. It lets her know that the conversation must not get serious and please don’t take this in a disrespectful way, I’m just trying to have a talk with you. Once I do this for awhile, I return to my original voice and finish my conversation with my mom. Works like a charm.

You: What are some main things you really need to focus on when you first get to college?

Me: The first and most important thing to really focus on is time management. You need to learn how to manage your time from school to having a social life which is also important.  Can’t spend too much time on work, it’s going to drive you crazy but you also can’t spend too much time for your social life because you won’t get any work done. Also, DEADLINES ARE IMPORTANT. Professors have low tolerance for late work and you get very little assignments so every assignment counts. Also, you should try to build a relationship with your professor. If they know you, they would be more willing to help you.

You: How do I handle a break-up?

Me: As teenagers we fall in love really fast. You start to date one week and the next week you’re “in love” and frequently they end up breaking up. Handling it is another issue. Some indulge in their sweet tooth and eat the feelings away. Some hold in all their feelings while others break down from the mere fact of seeing them. How I would handle the situation? I would confide in my closest friend and be completely honest with them, getting it out helps greatly. I would try to avoid the person as much as possible until you are sure your feelings are gone, seeing them would only remind you of the hurt. And lastly, DELETE EVERYTHING THAT  REMINDS YOU OF THEM.

You: What do I need to do to be at the top of my class?

Me: In order to be at the top of your class, maintain getting great grades. In order to get these grades, COMPLETE ALL YOUR ASSIGNMENTS your teachers give you, that’s where majority of your grade comes. Also, never get too comfortable because it will give others time and space to get ahead. You should also know your competition and their abilities but know that you won’t be the best at everything, you WILL make mistakes so learn to cope with your mistakes and move on to the next objective.

Leave a comment